A Unit of Centre for Excellence in Public Management (CEPM)

(A Government of West Bengal Initiative )

West Bengal, with its rich educational heritage, has been producing a large number of civil servants since the inception of Indian Civil Services (ICS). However, of late, there has been a decrease in the number of youths showing interest in the Civil Services. Consequently, in order to create an ecosystem through which more awareness and confidence could be instilled in the minds of youths to compete in this national-level examination, Mamata Banerjee, the Hon’ble Chief Minister of West Bengal, inaugurated Civil Services Study Centre (CSSC) on January 25, 2014. This Study Centre provides training, at a minimum cost, to the young boys and girls of the state who choose to take the UPSC conducted Civil Services Examination.

In May 2021, the Centre was rechristened Satyendra Nath Tagore Civil Services Study Centre after the name of the legendary personality of Bengal, Satyendranath Tagore, who became the first Indian Civil Service Officer in 1863.

With new objectives, SNTCSSC started its journey with commitment towards making our Hon’ble Chief Minister’s vision, a reality. For team SNTCSSC, it is not just a programme, it is a mission.

In the year 2021, from amongst the students associated with SNTCSSC and in constant touch with the team, thirty-six (36) students qualified UPSC CSE Prelims 2021 and in UPSC CSE 2022 fifty (50) candidates qualified UPSC CSE Prelims 2022 Additionally,sixty-six (66) students qualified UPSC CSE Prelims 2023.

Satyendra Nath Tagore Civil Services Study Centre is ready to serve as a beacon for UPSC aspirants and provide guidance and mentorship to the leaders of tomorrow.

We are happy to share that 15 candidates from SNTCSSC had appeared for the UPSC CSE 2022 Personality Test. 7 of them have made it to the final list of UPSC CSE 2022.

This year, 16 candidates from SNTCSSC, are appearing for the UPSC CSE 2023 Personality Test. Among them seven candidates have made it to the final list of UPSC CSE 2023.